Writing Update for Week of 9/17/12

So the whole point of this blog was to help me to organize my thoughts and to post any interesting research that I find while trying to write.  I’ve just realized that I’m three posts in and all I’ve done is write about a legend concerning Madame Royale and go off on a tangent about how a pamphlet about Marie Antoinette’s death reminded me of this upcoming presidential election here in the United States.  But have I talked about actual writing?  Not really.

So I need to take care of this then.  Last year I did NaNoWriMo for the very first time, and I had this whole idea for a novel about Aimee Dubucq de Rivery, only, instead of ending up sold into slavery in the Ottoman  Empire and becoming Valide Sultane Nakshedil, she would end up in Faerie and the plot would move from there.  Unfortunately, it grew too big, and I didn’t finish it in time.  So I just took another crack at it last month and decided to narrow it down substantially, so that it’s following a similar storyline, just with a smaller scope.  It’s relying much more on Spenser’s epic poem The Faerie Queene, which I have awful memories of (a professor in college wasted 2 class sessions going over one part line by line), but is a good foundation nonetheless.

The other one, which I’ve put on the back burner for right now until I finish the first one, is a Victorian paranormal thriller series set in late 1800s London.   I don’t want to get too much into it, but it looks very promising just from the chapters written so far and the plot outlines I’ve done.

So I clearly won’t be doing NaNoWriMo 2012 this November, but I think doing a sort of Pseudo-NaNo could work.  A finished novel–up to 80,000 words–by the end of November?  It’s feasible.

Now I just have to actually do it.

Leave a Reply

